Annual Award

Foundation scholarship winners

to continue their education

Creative Arts Scholarship
Awarded to a senior planning to pursue education in theatre, music or visual arts who has exhibited a strong work ethic and dedication to an area of expertise.
The winner was Victoria Wheelock.


Achiever Scholarship
Awarded to a senior who has overcome a physical and mental disability, displayed an exemplary work ethic and plans to pursue additional education or training.
The winner was Fritz Siegel.
Technical Scholarship
Awarded to a senior who has demonstrated a high degree of aptitude in a particular area of technical study and plans to pursue additional education or training.
The winner was Shahin Ahmadi.
Andrew Hinkle Memorial Soccer Scholarship
Awarded to a senior who has exemplified the spirit of true sportsmanship on and off the soccer field.
The winner was Asiimwe Ironside
Buddy Heins Servant Leader Scholarship
Awarded to a senior who has demonstrated the ability to effectively lead and empower others to achieve and lead through selfless service. The winner was Lily Sitver.



The Bearden Foundation offers scholarships to graduating seniors to reward achievement in a variety of endeavors. Additionally, a scholarship named in honor of former BHS Principal Dr. John Bartlett provides new laptop computers to deserving students. Winners were selected by a scholarship committee and presented during Senior Celebration activities at the high school. For next year’s Foundation scholarships, interested students can learn more and pick up a Nomination Request Form in the College & Career Center.

Annual Award



Awarded to rising seniors attending the American Legion Tennessee Boys State and the American Legion Auxiliary Volunteer Girls State programs which focus on leadership, citizenship and government. Given by the Houbler family in honor of former Bearden teacher Claude Houbler, the scholarships help cover the cost of attendance.
Boys State Winners: 
J.P. Catuncan and Ryan McIntyre.
Girls State Winners: Raigan Stump, Kristy Dean, Summer Davis, Olivia Hailey, Abby Ann Ramsay, Sierra Osborne, Samaya Baljepally, Christianne Alvarez and Hannah Patton.

Major Houbler

Boys & Girls

State Scholarship


Dr. John Bartlett Striver Scholarship




Awarded to seniors who strove for excellence at school while also holding down a job to help themselves or their family make ends meet. This year’s recipients all displayed a strong work
ethic and a desire to continue their education.
The 2019 winners were 
Camilla Fielder, Earnquavious Golden and Michael Hines.

Bearden High School Foundation, Inc.

P.O. Box 31729 • Knoxville, TN 37930


© 2019 by BHS Foundation

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook foundation